2015-2016 SOAR Award & Superintendent’s Award Winners Announced

Twenty-eight staff members and volunteers were honored at the Affton School District’s 20th Annual Service and Outstanding Achievement Recognition (SOAR) Awards on April 13. A special Superintendent’s Award was also presented.

“It is my privilege to represent the Board of Education and an honor to recognize 28 exceptional people that help make Affton School District stronger,” said Tom Bellavia, president of the Affton Board of Education. “These nominees encompass the excellence of character, performance, leadership, and service inherent to the SOAR Awards. They give of their time, their evenings, their weekends, and they certainly make a difference in each of our schools.”

Six nominees received the prestigious SOAR Award. They include: Kathy Beezley, nurse at Rogers Middle School; Emily Burst, fourth-grade teacher at Gotsch Intermediate School; Sandi LaManna, volunteer; Sue Madden, SSD instructional assistant at Affton Early Childhood; Dr. David Spellman, volunteer; and Kathy Vogt, volunteer.

Allen Supt Award - webMarilyn Allen, coordinator of Career & Technical Education, Perkins Grant and the A+ program at Affton High School, received the 2016 Superintendent’s Award for her support of and dedication to the Affton School District.

“Affton Schools is truly fortunate to have someone like Marilyn Allen on our team. Not only does she champion the district’s mission, she also provides leadership, treats others with respect, and above all else, puts kids first,” said Dr. Steve Brotherton, superintendent. “Marilyn has been instrumental in championing innovation throughout the district, helping bring Project Lead the Way (PLTW) STEM curriculum to all students from kindergarten through 12th grade, as well as launch the Center for Advanced Professional Studies (CAPS) experiential learning program this school year. Marilyn is a passionate professional and her efforts are integral in helping make us Affton Strong.”

In addition to the six SOAR Award winners, 22 others were nominated and honored at the ceremony: Jeniffer Ackerman, librarian at Mesnier Primary; Becky Blake, registrar and secretary at Rogers Middle; Tracie Burroughs, food service director at Rogers Middle; Nicci Clark, secretary at Rogers Middle; Akif Cogo, volunteer; Jill Cotton, sixth-grade teacher at Rogers Middle; Steve Feller, volunteer; Jason Ferguson, maintenance at Affton School District; Sandy Kettelkamp, gifted education teacher at Mesnier Primary; Jan Lee, parent educator for Affton Parents As Teachers; Elinora Mayor, support staff at the Administration Center; Ann Michalski, SSD instructional assistant and Cougar Care facilitator at Mesnier Primary; Dana Miller, math teacher at Affton High School; Dr. Benjamin Moore, volunteer; Kathy Moran, secretary at Affton Early Childhood; Brian Schaffer, volunteer; Bridget Sinamon, Cougar Care facilitator at Affton Early Childhood; Dave Thier, maintenance at Affton School District; Kathy Wagoner, technology integration specialist at Mesnier Primary; and Jennifer Walburn, second-grade teacher at Mesnier Primary.